The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (often referred to as the EYFS) is a group of documents produced by the government to set the standards for care and education for children under the age of five. Its aim is to support early years practitioners in providing the highest quality childcare.

Development Matters is the EYFS practice guidance document and it outlines four themes:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Developing

The EYFS affirms that by achieving the first three themes, all children will ‘learn and develop’ in the best possible way and will be ready for their school career.

A Unique Child

When it comes to care and education we understand that there is no better way to meet your little ones needs than on an individual basis. The Early Years Foundation Stage champions ‘A Unique Child’ and so do we. We work closely with parents/carers and outside agencies to ensure every child has the care and education they need and deserve to achieve their full potential.

Positive Relationships

In order to feel safe and secure, children need positive relationships with the adults and other children in their world. Therefore, it is our priority to ensure our children form these essential bonds with their carers. Our practitioners have a wealth of experience in caring for children and making them feel comfortable in their new environments. Every child is assigned a key worker who will take the lead in ensuring all of their children feel safe, secure and loved.

Enabling Environments

Children not only need to feel safe, but need a space that provides tailored support and high quality provisions. Our spaces, both indoor and out are created through continual reflection on how children learn and what they need to thrive. Our centres ensure we provide the highest quality resources within the rooms as well as additional provisions such as woodland areas, a sensory room, libraries, a music room and heuristic play spaces.

Learning and Development

Within the theme of ‘Learning and Development’, the EYFS sets out Characteristics of Effective Learning and the Areas of Learning.

The Characteristics of Effective Learning

We define the characteristics of effective learning as the attitudes children have towards their play and interactions. Are they curious? Do they keep trying? Do they problem solve? When children have these characteristics they are more effective learners and will learn much more from their experiences.

Here at ABC we support our children in developing positive approaches to learning. Our Baby and Toddler rooms make these attitudes a priority when supporting children’s learning and development. Practitioners will continually assess how children are developing these attitudes and what we can do to support them.

The Areas of Learning

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in very young children and they lay the groundwork for a child’s development in the specific areas of learning. This is why our Baby and Toddler rooms prioritise the prime areas alongside the characteristics to ensure our children have the best possible foundations for their education.

Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

As children learn and grow we introduce more learning around the specific areas. Our Pre-school approach is centred around “school readiness” and the specific areas form a fundamental part of our children’s learning.

© Copyright 2024 ABC Early Learning & Childcare Centre UK LtdWeb Design By Toolkit Websites